Progress!

Yesterday afternoon, I got one great phone call from my second opinion doctor.  (I’ve been calling almost daily for three weeks trying to get in to see him without much result.)  After I found out that I needed to send them my Radiology reports (x-rays, cat scans, MRI, etc), I called my dad and requested him to take them to the drs. office the next day.  (It was 3:30 that afternoon, and I didn’t want him to have to drop everything and do it right then.)  Well, he decided it was worth dropping everything, and even though he was driving home from Dallas and dropping off my grandmother at the house in S. Arlington, he immediately turned around, swung by my house to get the CDs, and hauled booty to the drs office to get it there before 5.  He got there at 4:55.  (Can I just say how great my dad is??? He’s awesome and wonderful and I don’t deserve to have him or the rest of my family, but I thank God every day that I do!)

So, about 24 hours later, I get a phone call from the office saying that they (finally) reviewed my file and will overbook me for Wednesday, May 2nd.  I was grinning from ear to ear- everyone I have talked to that has worked with this doctor RAVES about him.  He’s been the last resort for a bunch of people and has actually helped them.

So, I’ve got my hopes up.  I’m praying for healing, and I think this doctor might be the way God provides it.

Those of y’all that are the praying type, here’s my prayer requests:

– for healing of the back… no matter how long it takes (but the speedier the better!)

– to be able to walk down the aisle (shouldn’t be a problem, especially because I get to hold on to my dad one way and my husband (I love that word- can’t wait to use it for real!) the other!) and have my two dances- 1 with my husband (there it is again!), 1 with my daddy (not sure if it’s doable at the moment- would need to improve a bit more).  Everything else is bonus.  We have many alternate plans, and I’m okay with sitting or laying on a chaise lounge for the remainder of the wedding and reception if I get to do those three things!

– for Dr. Bianco to figure out what’s going on with my back and find treatment options that work.

– for Bear and I- we’re doing fine, but this is hard.  He’s my primary caregiver and he’s doing a great job, but it’s taxing both physically and emotionally.

Leave a Reply

