Back update: the good, the bad, and the grouchy.

So, I’ve been quiet on le facebook in regards to my back, mainly because I’m sick of saying the same thing.  Basically, what it boils down to, is that I’m three and a half months into this back injury, and no better than when I started.  Actually, I’m worse.  I’m in bed rather than at work.  It’s frustrating beyond belief, and although I’ve mainly been able to keep optimistic about the whole thing, there are definitely days where I’m full of frustration and fear.

To make matters worse, I’m stuck between a rock and a hard place with my doctors.  My original doctor is overworked and overbooked and is not giving me adequate care.  Even though every doctor’s visit showed me getting worse, his answer continues to be “Let’s give it six weeks and see what happens”.  He’s also admitted that I’m not a typical case and there might be something else wrong, but he won’t run tests to figure out what IS wrong.

So, I consulted my primary care doctor (about three weeks ago) and told him how unhappy I was with the care I was receiving from Dr. 1 and requested an additional opinion.  He recommended Dr. 2.  So, I called and attempted to make an appointment.  First available?  May 23rd.  They told me that if I called and had them review my file I might get in earlier.  So, i did, and it’s been buried under the rest of the files for at least two weeks.  I finally got somewhere today when i found out that they need all my MRI/CAT scan/X-ray reports to determine whether they can fit me in.  So, here’s hoping I get somewhere soon.

On top of that, one of my close friends’ husbands (a doctor) mentioned to me that I might want to look into the possibility of a type of arthritis.  It’s called psoriatic arthritis, and one form of it focuses on the L5/Sacrum area (where all of my problems are).  Because I have psoriasis, it’s definitely a possibility, but it may be a slight chance.  At this point, I’m willing to look into it.  But, that involves seeing another doctor and getting another opinion.

I realize that recovery is slow with back injuries, but I can’t tell you how frustrating this is when I am 67 days away from walking down the aisle.  At this point, I don’t care if I can’t dance the night away- in two months, I’m realistic enough to know that it’s not likely.   But, to not be able to dance the first dance with my husband, or the daddy-daughter dance I’ve dreamed about since I was five or to walk down the aisle?  It’s a bit hard to take right now.  We’ve got about a 1000 back-up plans set up for if things like this happens, but I can’t help worrying about it.

Leave a Reply

