2009 Reflection.

If you don’t know this about me already, I love New year’s, Lent, First days of school, etc… I like the idea of starting fresh and getting rid of the bad and concentrating on the good.  Simple mom put together a reflection for 2009, so I thought I’d complete this to take a look back at my year.
This NYE reflection comes from simplemom.  There’s 20 total questions, but I picked the ones that related best to me.
1. What was the single best thing that happened this past year?
The birth of my nephew Lars, hands down.  Watching my brother and sister in law beginning parenthood has been both touching and hilarious.  I have a three year old nephew, Alex, whom I adore and a future nephniece coming in June, but they both are/will be in Philly and Lars is local, which (hopefully) will allow me to be more a part of his life.
2. What was the single most challenging thing that happened?
Grad school.  I’ve learned a lot and met some amazing people through the program, but balancing it with teaching and the rest of my life continues to push me to my limits, over and over again.
3. What was an unexpected joy this past year?
I got to travel A LOT this year.  One of my new years resolution for 2009 was to travel out of state at least once.  By the end of the year, I had been on a road trip to Colorado, Philly, Chicago, and Louisiana.  The summer of 2009 was amazing, and I will treasure these memories for years to come!
4. What was an unexpected obstacle?
Busy-ness.  I tend to try to do it all, and have for years.   But, I’m (SLOWLY) learning that life’s better when you’re not running 90 mph and have time to actually enjoy it.
5. Pick three words to describe 2009.
laughter, family, and memories
6. What were the best books you read this year?
I read a lot of textbooks this year, so fun books got pushed to the side a lot.  I loved Bud Not Buddy and Watsons go to Birmingham by Christopher Paul Curtis, as well as the Twilight books.
7. With whom were your most valuable relationships?
I would say the accountability group of girls.  They continually show me unconditional love and support.
8.  What was your biggest personal change from January to December of this past year?
Honestly, I don’t know.  I don’t think I changed much this year.
9. In what way(s) did you grow emotionally?
I’ve become a bit more comfortable in my own skin and being who I am without worrying about what others think.
10. In what way(s) did you grow spiritually?
The Beth Moore study, although I didn’t finish, continuously rocked my world.  I look forward to finishing in 2010.
11. What was your single biggest time waster in your life this past year?
Facebook.  I love it and hate it all at the same time.
12. What was the best way you used your time this past year?
The time I spent with my family and friends.
13. What was biggest thing you learned this past year?
Slow down and enjoy the ride.  Now, I just have to put this lesson into place!
14. Create a phrase or statement that describes 2009 for you.
“No, I’m no one’s wife, but man, I love my life!” (Chicago)
Leave a Reply

