Fitness… or lack there of.

Coming up, I will be updating with my yearly “How I spent my summer vacation” photo/essay/post, but for now, I want to talk about fitness.   One goal that didn’t get written down for this years resolutions is running a 5k.   So, I started the Couch to 5k program.  I’m not a runner… I’ve never been.  But, this semester will be very stressful, and so I am trying to do everything I can to lessen it and make it more manageable.  When I’m stressed, I really do like working out, especially running.  I just don’t last long!!! 🙂

So, a few days ago, my fantabulous cousin Cat helped me pick out some running gear (socks, shorts, etc.), and I began day one today.  I normally run on a treadmill at my gym, but I wanted to run outside this morning.  It was only 78 degrees, so I thought I’d be fine.  Whoa.  Not so much.  I got through it, but I swear it took everything I had!!!  I’m sure I looked pitiful trying to get through my thirty minutes of  intervals.

So, I’ve got my race set for October 10th.   I’m excited to knock another goal off my resolutions, and it’s one step closer to eventually doing a triathalonm, which is on my life list.

If any of y’all are runners and have suggestions, you just let me know… I’m going to need the help!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

